On the Corner of Love and Hate: Hopeless Romantics #1 by Nina Bocci

On the Corner of Love and Hate: Hopeless Romantics #1 by Nina Bocci

Nina Bocci comes to the blog with the first in her Hopeless Romantics series, a contemporary romantic comedy set in small town Pennsylvania with

On the Corner of Love and Hate

Emma and her family has lived in Hope Lake for most of her twenty-eight years, and her father has been the town’s mayor for most of that. Now he’s decided to retire and has hand-picked her childhood friend turned nemesis, Cooper as his successor. And that’s a solid choice: Cooper is a direct descendant of the town’s founder, his mother is governor, and he’s utterly in love with the town of Hope Lake and wants to see the best for it. So much so that, after university, he came back to work for the Hope Lake Community Development Office with Emma – in fact the two of them were so god that they are ‘splitting’ the job once managed by one person, and have increased business to the delight of residents and businesses. And with Emma being the ULTIMATE organizer, she and the assistant, Nancy have been ‘managing’ all of Cooper’s work with the DOC since his primary win. Stressed, working multiple hours in a week, and presented with an opportunity that some eight years before Cooper in his Lothario phase torched in spectacular fashion, she’s ready to take on the challenge and demand Cooper step away from the job to concentrate on the race.

But all is not well between Cooper and Emma. Growing up it was she, Cooper, Nick and Henry – an inseparable foursome. But when everyone split off for college, Emma thought the crush she’d had on Cooper was worth exploring, until her roommate Whitney used her looks and a bit of information to scoop Cooper up in a dating frenzy. Needless to say, Emma felt horrid and their relationship was strained at best, antagonistic at worst and strained all that time. It’s not helping that Cooper is still making HUGE playboy-esque gaffes and frustrated that no one believes he’s grown up, when it is decided he needs a campaign manager – and Emma is she. Emma won’t work ‘in front’ though, she doesn’t want to taint her father’s legacy, nor be another piece of kindling for the fire that is surrounding Cooper, most due to his opponent’s willingness to toss dirt, and spread rumors in his attempts to become mayor and bring in several large box stores, ruining the tourist and family-friendly atmosphere of the town.

This was a super fun and frequently funny book, as Cooper and Emma are dancing about their feelings for one another, in ways that range from childish stuttering and stammering to serious determined efforts to antagonize or claim alone time. With the addition of Emma’s parents, a group of very involved seniors, the rest of their childhood gang and some serious bitch moments from Whitney, the story is clever and easy to follow – with Emma’s abilities to organize, manage and direct a winning campaign are front and center. Unlike many books that claim “if you like X author you’ll like this” – there was an apt reference as the interpersonal dynamics reminded me of titles from Lauren Layne and Christina Lauren.

On the Corner of Love and Hate: Hopeless Romantics #1 by Nina Bocci

Title: On the Corner of Love and Hate
Author: Nina Bocci
Series: Hopeless Romantics #1
Genre: Contemporary Romantic Comedy, Friendship, Humor elements, Romantic Elements, Second Chance, Small Town
Published by: Gallery Books
ISBN: 1982102039
Published on: 20 April, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 336
Audio Length: 9 Hours: 20 minutes
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo IndieBound Book Depository Google
See this Title on Goodreads

For fans of Christina Lauren and Lauren Layne comes a delightfully sassy and sexy romance about a campaign manager who reluctantly works with the local Lothario to help revamp his image for the upcoming mayoral elections, only to discover that he’s hiding something that can turn both their lives upside down.

What’s a campaign manager’s worst nightmare? A smooth-talking charmer who’s never met a scandal that he didn’t like.

When Emmanuelle Peroni’s father—and mayor of her town—asks her to help rehab Cooper Endicott’s image, she’s horrified. Cooper drives her crazy in every way possible. But he’s also her father’s protégé, and she can’t say no to him without him finding out the reason why: Cooper and her have a messy past. So Emmanuelle reluctantly launches her father’s grand plan to get this Casanova someone to settle down with and help him lose his lothario reputation.

Cooper Endicott wanted to run for Mayor, but he never wanted the drama that went with it. Now that he’s on the political hamster wheel, the other candidates are digging up everything from his past. Even though he’s doing all the right things, his colorful love life is the sticking point for many of the conservative voters. He wants to win, badly, and he knows that if he wants any chance of getting a vote from the female population, he needs to change his image. The only problem? He might just be falling in love with the one person he promised not to pursue: the Mayor’s off-limits daughter.

A perfect blend of humor and heart, On the Corner of Love and Hate is the first in a new series from USA TODAY bestselling author Nina Bocci.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

 

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.