Clover Cottage: Love Heart Lane #3 by Christie Barlow

Clover Cottage: Love Heart Lane #3 by Christie Barlow

Christie Barlow comes to the blog with the third book (yet first I’ve read) in the Love Heart Lane series with

Clover Cottage

I was about 3 pages in when I started to recognize the writing style, and sure enough, I’d read another of this author’s titles a couple of years back, and have several of her titles in my TBR pile. Characters that are both compelling and engaging, a story that is full of hope and change, and a few little hiccups in the road to keep everyone on their toes. And Allie and Rory have the hiccups but it is the strength of their relationship, and the friends they both have in the little village of Heartcross. Allie is a ‘one place’ kind of girl, after her early childhood of moving frequently, landing in Heartcross where her parents own the pub was the best thing ever. Roots, friends, a place to belong – she’s dug in and never thought of more. Except when it comes to Rory. Friends since childhood, they’ve been dating for a while now, and Allie is ready to start the next chapter.

But an opportunity in the form of a famous actor and documentarian have come to stay in town, and he’s using the downtime to regroup before heading to Africa for a year to film a Lion Conservancy project among other things. When his dog is hit after the town’s festival, Rory jumps into take control, as the local vet with his father, he’s managed the dog’s care, setting her leg and finding notoriety and some new opportunities in being that close to the ‘famous’ spotlight. With a short ‘day in the life’ series made at the veterinary clinic, and opportunities to travel to Africa (a lifelong dream) the relationship with Allie is, in her mind, all gone pear shaped. Rory wants to travel and experience new things, Allie is much more the country mouse and wants to be home.

We’ve got plenty of friends all adding their two cents, some revelations for Rory from his own parents and a cottage that, as Allie sees it, is perfect for the two of them to move forward in their relationship. But everything is thrown to the winds as the two need to sort out the ‘what next’ and Allie comes to terms with Rory’s dream of Africa, and her own little bit of meddling to offer him an opportunity. There are friends, family and love galore in this little village: when all comes to climax, Allie has learned to take (and look forward to) new opportunities while remaining grounded in her own little village and plans for the future with Rory. A lovely story that will make you want to trek to Heartcross simply to take in the atmosphere and meet the people, looking to befriend everyone you meet.

Clover Cottage: Love Heart Lane #3 by Christie Barlow

Title: Clover Cottage
Author: Christie Barlow
Series: Love Heart Lane #3
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Family Saga, Friendship, Humor elements, Romantic Elements, Scottish, Setting: Scotland, Small Town
Published by: One More Chapter
ISBN: 0008362696
Published on: 20 March, 2020
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 400
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo GoogleDirect from Publisher
See this Title on Goodreads

A page-turning new cosy novel in the bestselling Love Heart Lane series – perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Phillipa Ashley and Milly Johnson!

Love Heart Lane – where friends are there for you no matter what.

When Vet Rory Scott inherits ramshackle Clover Cottage in the quaint village of Heartcross, Allie MacDonald just knows this is their happy ever after. A place to call home with the man she loves – it’s her dream come true!

Until Rory drops a bombshell. He loves Allie but he has dreams of his own to follow – to live and work in Africa. Clover Cottage will have to wait just a little longer…

Allie can’t imagine life without Rory, but she loves him too much to hold him back. And as he embarks on his adventure, Allie begins to rethink her own plans. She loves Rory and knows she wants him in her life, but maybe she can follow her own dreams too?

And always there, nestled in the beautiful village of Heartcross, surrounded by the people she loves, will be the place that will always bring them back to each other. Their forever home, Clover Cottage.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Christie Barlow

Christie Barlow is the author of A Year in the Life of a Playground Mother, The Misadventures of a Playground Mother, Kitty's Countryside Dream, Lizzie's Christmas Escape, Evie's Year of Taking Chances and The Cosy Canal Boat Dream. She lives in Staffordshire with her husband, four kids, horses, chickens and a mad cocker spaniel.

Her writing career came as somewhat a surprise when she decided to write a book to teach her children a valuable life lesson and show them that they are capable of achieving their dreams. The book she wrote to prove a point is now a #1 bestseller in the UK, USA and Australia.

Christie is an ambassador for @ZuriProject raising money and awareness and engaging with communities in Uganda through organisations to improve their well-being. She is also Literary Editor for www.mamalifemagazine.co uk, bringing you all the latest news and reviews from the book world.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.