Christmas on the Little Cornish Isles: The Driftwood Inn by Philippa Ashley

Christmas on the Little Cornish Isles: The Driftwood Inn by Philippa Ashley

Philippa Ashley takes us to the little Cornish Islands in this first book in her new series that combines woman’s fiction and romance and brings an atmospheric read to this holiday tale. Please read on for my review of

Christmas on the Little Cornish Isles: The Driftwood Inn

Travel to the Scilly Isles, just off the coast of Cornwall, Gull Island and the Driftwood Inn become the focal point in this story of the islanders, their independence and the struggle to make a living and a life in a picturesque if remote location. Maisie has left her job on the mainland to come home and run the family business, The Driftwood Inn. After years away from family and a traumatic end to a relationship that left her bruised and grieving, the short tourist season is ending and the off season looms: a time to find money and energy to keep the inn viable and appealing to customers. While Maisie is determined to keep the locals on island, and working together to keep the independent spirit and unique flavor of the island, she’s battling against an upscale resort property on a neighboring island, with an owner with deep pockets and a ruthless determination to purchase the whole island for his own company’s growth.

Patrick is an Aussie on island for a bit of backpacking and some personal research. The season is ending, but he’s met Maisie and wants to know more, both for his own personal quest and to answer questions about the attraction he feels for her. After losing his parents at a young age, he was at loose ends and often in trouble, until a couple stepped in and provided him security and guidance, and a bit of tough love. After losing the man who was more a father figure to him, he’d retreated into grief and this field trip to Cornwall and the Scilly Islands is part of his own quest for answers and healing.

Philippa Ashley brought these islands to life and light: one would never assume that life was easy, but the balance of scenery, friendship and community shine through. From moments of grey fog through the bright sunshine contrasting with seascapes, wind and wildlife, every new moment of description adds color and depth to the visual images. Maisie and Patrick are both intriguing characters: both with secrets and agendas, neither willing to give over fully (at first) to the attraction that is building between them. With secondary characters that add both depth and angst to the story, plenty of moments to worry for both Maisie and her father, and a single-minded Labrador retriever who deserves his own story, I read this book in one sitting and wanted to go back for more.

Christmas on the Little Cornish Isles: The Driftwood Inn by Philippa Ashley

Title: Christmas on the Little Cornish Isles: The Driftwood Inn
Author: Philippa Ashley
Series: The Little Cornish Isles #1
Genre: British, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Romantic Elements, Setting: Britain
Published by: Avon Maze
ISBN: 0008257302
Published on: 18 September, 2017
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 400
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Christmas has arrived on the Cornish Isles of Scilly, bringing mistletoe, surprises and more than a sprinkle of romance . . . Fans of Poldark and Carole Matthews will love this brand-new festive read from the author of the bestselling Cornish Café series.

For Maisie Samson, this Christmas is going to be different. After years working in a busy Cornish pub, she’s moved back to quiet Gull Island where she grew up, to help her parents run the family inn.

But even though she can’t wait for the festive season to arrive, Maisie cannot shake the memories of what happened to her last Christmas – the day she lost everything. She keeps herself busy, setting up the tree and hanging mistletoe ready for her first proper family Christmas in years.

Until a new arrival to the island walks into her bar and changes everything. Australian backpacker Patrick is looking for a job for the low season. When Maisie takes him on, she doesn’t expect him to last the week, but to her surprise Patrick is the perfect fit. Charming and handsome, could Maisie allow herself to hope that she and Patrick could be more than just colleagues?

As Christmas approaches, Maisie finds herself dreading the spring, when Patrick is due to leave. With the help of a little Christmas magic, can Maisie get the happily ever after she always dreamed of?

Christmas on the Little Cornish Isles is the first in a stunning new series from Phillipa Ashley. The perfect book to snuggle up with this Christmas.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Philippa Ashley

Phillipa Ashley is an award-winning author of 17 novels under three pen-names.

Her best selling new Cornish Cafe series is available in e book and paperback now.

The first in a brand new series - Christmas on the Little Cornish Isles: the Driftwood Inn was published on September 18th.

She also writes the Oxford Blue series as Pippa Croft.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge