Christmas at the Foyles Bookshop: The Foyles Girls #3 by Elaine Roberts

Christmas at the Foyles Bookshop: The Foyles Girls #3 by Elaine Roberts

Elaine Roberts returns to the blog with the third book in The Foyles Girls saga, and we’ve reached the holiday season

Christmas at the Foyles Bookshop

So- this isn’t a feel-good happy story, the series has grown and covered all three of the main characters for a couple of years now, and they are all happily reunited at he Foyles Bookshop after Molly escaped serious injury or death with the explosion of the munitions factory she was working at. With Alice married and juggling work and her husband and young son, and Victoria and Daisy holding down the ‘home’ while their brothers are away fighting, everyone is tired of the endless worries, bomb threats and struggles that have been the hallmark of the war. While Molly is back at the shop and adding a sense of ‘everything returning to normal’, Mr. Leadbetter, the manager of the shop, has picked Victoria out to help as a floorwalker, a temporary move but one he thinks she is well suited for. While sorting problems in the shop, helping customers sort books, and bringing her general air of helpfulness and good sense to the job, Molly is engaged and happy in the children’s section and Alice is working her position reliably with little to no issues.

But, with Molly having a boyfriend, and Alice married, Victoria seems stuck in the past, longing for Thomas, convinced she’s going no where and watching a growing flirtation with her sister Daisy and a fellow police officer. She’s also made no efforts to clear out her parent’s room after their death, and her anger at them for leaving, as well as a general depression has both Alice and Molly worried for her, a worry that increases as Molly sets a wedding date and Alice is pregnant again.

There are secrets, clues and some more family information hidden in the room, along with clothing that Victoria never remembers seeing, and her worries about ‘not being enough’ have led her to volunteering at the hospital. Unearthing family secrets, discovering the whereabouts of Thomas and generally obsessing over her own lack of everything, Victoria isn’t allowed to wallow for long or too deeply as the girls have pitched in to help, listen, puzzle out clues and push her forward. You can’t read this as a stand alone as the stories are confusing to walk in on, and the personalities of the girls have all been established as their stories unfold. While only containing a bit about the holiday season and the adjustments and decorations set up for the bookshop’s Christmas with Santa and free books for every child, it is more a story of coming together and finding pieces lost, reuniting families and friendships, and coming together in hopes for an end to the war in the coming months.

Christmas at the Foyles Bookshop: The Foyles Girls #3 by Elaine Roberts

Title: Christmas at the Foyles Bookshop
Author: Elaine Roberts
Series: The Foyles Girls #3
Also in this series: The Foyles Bookshop Girls at War
Genre: British, Family Saga, Friendship, Historic Elements, Historic Woman's Fiction, Holiday Themed, Romantic Elements, Second Chance, Setting: Britain, World War I
Published by: Aria
ISBN: 9781788544870
Published on: 1 August, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 297
Rated: four-stars
Heat: One Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Alice, Victoria and Molly couldn't be more different and yet they share a friendship that stems back to their childhood – a friendship that provides everyday solace from the tribulations and heartbreak of war. Perfect for fans of Elaine Everest, Daisy Styles and Rosie Hendry.

All the Foyles girls want this Christmas is their loved ones back safe and sound and to look foward to a New Year without the shadow of war...

The final book in Elaine Roberts' heartwarming Foyles Girls trilogy.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Elaine Roberts

Elaine Roberts had a dream to write for a living. She completed her first novel in her twenties and received her first very nice rejection. Life then got in the way until she picked up her dream again in 2010 and shortly afterwards had her first short story published. Elaine and her patient husband, Dave, have five children who have flown the nest. Home is in Dartford, Kent and is always busy with their children, grandchildren, grand dogs and cats visiting

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

2 responses to “Christmas at the Foyles Bookshop: The Foyles Girls #3 by Elaine Roberts

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.