Can I Give My Husband Back?  by Kristen Bailey

Can I Give My Husband Back?  by Kristen Bailey

Kristen Bailey returns to the blog with another laugh-out-loud story, this one focusing on moving on after divorce with

Can I Give My Husband Back?

Not quite a sequel, but focused on another of the Callaghan sisters, Emma – the pediatric heart surgeon, mother of two young daughters and recently divorced from her serial-adulterous husband Simon. In addition, she’s got her younger, wild-child sister Lucy living with her, helping with child-minding and generally being outrageous. But while the sisters are in the all-for-one mode, and her mother is willing to throw fists at the ex, Emma is still reeling from his behavior, and trying to deal with the shock to her self-esteem. It doesn’t help that Simon is habitually and chronically critical of everything she does, and is obtrusive in the worst ways – but he’s just despicable, and unable, or unwilling to keep his pants zipped.

From regaining her balance and finding a ‘compassionate ear’ in a newly-single Dad in the school drop off, between being tired, depressed and more than a little angry (still) Emma never quite loses her sense of humor, or her begrudging willingness to ‘put herself out there” ….

There are plenty of ups and downs – and more laughs than one might expect from someone who had their life plan ripped to confetti and tossed liberally on the M4 – but you can’t keep a Callaghan sister down – for long. From laugh out loud moments, to pure frustration, the journey is never straightforward for Emma – but she has friends, an adorable patient in the form of a little boy who lights up her days, sisters who are frustrating but always there in a pinch, and a sense of humor that moves from snark to outright slapstick – the story is well worth the read and the introduction to this wacky, supportive, snarky and wholly outrageous Callaghan family – and the way they manage to weather every storm…. eventually. Grab this, Grab the other in this ‘loosely connected’ series: Has Anyone Seen My Sex Life? And be prepared for giggles, guffaws and new ways to find hilarity in the occasional swearing and human emotions.

 

Can I Give My Husband Back?  by Kristen Bailey

Title: Can I Give My Husband Back?
Author: Kristen Bailey
Genre: British, Comedic Elements, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Depression, Family Saga, Friendship, Romantic Elements, Second Chance, Setting: Britain
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 1838882391
Published on: 16 June, 2020
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 394
Audio Length: 10 Hours: 39 minutes
Rated: five-stars
Heat: One FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo IndieBound GoogleAudible
See this Title on Goodreads

My sisters call my ex-husband Satan. That tells you everything you need to know about him.
I thought I was sorted on the life front. I was a heart surgeon with a loving partner and two gorgeous little girls. Except my husband’s version of ‘loving’ is lying, cheating and sleeping his way around London. Which means I definitely deserve a refund.

Unfortunately, moving on isn’t that simple. Just because I know how to operate on a heart doesn’t mean I know how to fix my broken one. Plus, I lost the receipt for him years ago so I’m definitely getting short changed.
But now I’m single, am I ready to mingle? There are a few minor issues:

1) The last time I went on a date double denim was in fashion and my eyebrows were horrendously overplucked. 2) Men wear stupidly skinny jeans now.
3) I don’t know how to use dating apps but at least I don’t have to get changed out of my pyjamas.
4) Sometimes the most promising thing you have in common with a guy is a shared love of prawns.
5) I don’t know whether to open a date with ‘hi’ or ‘hello’ or ‘hey’ and once I ended up saying ‘howdy’.

Everything happens for a reason, they say. There’s plenty more fish in the sea. But what happens when everything falls apart and you haven’t got a clue how to go fishing?

An absolutely hilarious and utterly relatable tale for anyone who has ever survived a nightmare relationship, felt a little lonely or nursed a broken heart with wine and carbs. This feel-good novel will get you back on your feet and genuinely laughing out loud. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks, Sophie Ranald and Sophie Kinsella.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 


Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.