The Café by the Sea by Jenny Colgan

The Café by the Sea by Jenny Colgan

Oh how I love a Jenny Colgan title, and now, she’s moved to the outer reaches of Scotland to a small island ripe with lore, family and lots o fun in 

The Café by the Sea

Flora’s mother always pushed her for ‘more”, study more, dance more, dream big. And she succeeded in making a life, albeit a difficult one, as a paralegal in London. But now, a new client to the firm has landed on her small home island of Mure, and her boss wants her to help with the publicity and relations with the locals to get this multibillionaire tech giant what he wants. Flora was a wonderful striking girl, but always a bit reticent and unnoticed until her own internal conflicts about being back on Mure and her self-confidence start to sort themselves out. As anyone who has been in the upper Highlands can attest, blondes with fair skin and pale eyes are favored as otherworldly. The elders fawn over your specialness, the other kids tease you, and you constantly hear the refrain of “selkie”. Not an unusual sighting at all, these islands are still releasing secret Norse treasures from their earliest histories, a lineage often born out in the fair skinned, fair haired northern scots. But, always being made to feel different, even as being the only girl with 3 brothers would provide enough of, the separation caused jealousies at home between the kids, and made Flora feel her mother’s death keenly, and she’s never quite recovered.

Now – the people around Flora are what cause most of the conflicts (and moments) in the story As it was her first return after her mother’s funeral, where harsh words were spoken to her family, she’s subjected to plenty of hard looks, and always imagines that people are talking about her behind her back. See, Flora is overly concerned with what others think of her, and this is most keenly felt when she is home among those who’ve known her from childhood. She’s meant to talk up the new owner of the grand house on the island, newly renovated and staffed with no consideration to those on the island. As life offers little opportunities and fewer options for locals, the emigration off island to work, school and make a life is always a concern. When you add in Flora’s boss – a brusque, no-nonsense, socially awkward American lawyer, anyone who has felt as if “newcomers” have invaded their life and plan to overturn everything, the stage is set – needing only Colgan’s skill with storytelling and character building to give it life.

Here is where Jenny Colgan excels: her characters are flawed and desperately clinging to images of themselves as their best selves, even when they are riddled with insecurities and questions, and often resistant to change. Slowly, the magic of the island and it’s unique feel, a feel that is oozing from the pages that will work it’s magic on you as well as those in the book. No one is wholly without difficulties in this story, and there are moments that bring people together quite literally to be split apart seconds later over another old or imagined slight. From the old legends, singular scenery, temperamental weather and the incursion of modernity much to th dismay of many who cling to the old ways, this story goes from one high point to another. From visualizing the Orca beached on the sand to the joy of the ceiladgh and the Highland dancers, this story takes what could be anyone’s return to home after a long absence story to one that is a memorable and poignant journey to a place few of us will ever be fortunate enough to experience.

The Café by the Sea by Jenny Colgan

Title: The Cafe by the Sea
Author: Jenny Colgan
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Setting: Scotland
Published by: William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN: 006266297X
Published on: 27 June, 2017
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher Via Edelweiss
Pages: 416
Audio Length: 11 Hours: 40 minutes
Rated: five-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameHalf a Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour IndieBound Book Depository GoogleAudible
See this Title on Goodreads

The beloved author of The Bookshop on the Corner returns with a sparkling, sunny, soulful. new novel perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand.

Years ago, Flora fled the quiet Scottish island where she grew up -- and she hasn't looked back. What would she have done on Mure? It's a place where everyone has known her all her life, where no one will let her forget the past. In bright, bustling London, she can be anonymous, ambitious... and hopeleslly in love with her boss.

But when fate brings Flora back to the island, she's suddenly swept once more into life with her brothers -- all strapping, loud and seemingly incapable of basic housework -- and her father. Yet even amid the chaos of their reunion, Flora discovers a passion for cooking -- and find herself restoring dusty little pink-fronted shop on the harbour: a café by the sea.

But with the seasons changing,Flora must come to terms with past mistakes;-- and work out exactly where her future lies...

Funny and heartfelt, The Café by the Sea is a delightful summertime novel that puts a modern twist on the classic Seven Brides for Seven Brothers story.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher Via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Jenny Colgan

Jenny T. Colgan was born in 1972 in Prestwick, Ayrshire, Scotland, UK. After studying at Edinburgh University, she worked for six years in the health service, moonlighting as a cartoonist and a stand-up comic, before the publication of her first novel Amanda's Wedding in 2000. In 2013, her novel "Welcome to Rosie Hopkin's Sweetshop of Dreams" won the Romantic Novel of the Year Award by the Romantic Novelists' Association. She is now working on her next novel.

She is married with Andrew, a marine engineer, and had three children, Wallace, Michael-Francis, and Delphie. She mostly lives in France, with frequent visits to London. She occasionally writes for The Guardian newspaper, as well as a TV series.

Her Doctor Who novel Dark Horizons is published under the name J.T. Colgan.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge