The Bride Next Door: Chapel of Love #4 by Hope Ramsay

The Bride Next Door: Chapel of Love #4 by Hope Ramsay

Hope Ramsay returns with a new book in her small town romance series, Chapel of Love. Please read on for my review of

The Bride Next Door

Courtney is in her “zone” as a wedding planner: she’s got her life, her list about ‘men’ and with both of her friends now pregnant, she’s also got a ton of work to do. She’s well and truly out of the dating game (or so she tells herself) because in an instant she can put any man into a category and decide he’s not worth her time. At the heart of things – she’s scared that she’ll never have what her friends do: happiness, love and families on the way.

Matt is back in town after his job with an environmental lobbying firm was eliminated in DC. Unable to find more work in his chosen field, he’s returned to Shenandoah Falls and joined the family law firm – a job that most definitely isn’t what he hoped for. In addition, Matt’s reputation as a ladies man precedes him. He’s handsome and honestly wants to do well, but he’s riddled with insecurities at the law firm where the pro-bono cases have been dropped in his lap. But, like all boys – he’s made a bet with a friend that he’ll be able to take Courtney out – not really meaning anything more than that. He finds her attractive and intriguing – made only more so by her apparent untouchability.

Of course, Courtney finds out about the bet – with a bit of a warning-off by the town cop, and she’s decided she’ll play Matt to teach him a lesson. But things are much deeper: she’s unaccountably attracted to him, even as she repeatedly tries to fob him off with dismissive comments, a sharp and snide attitude and general unpleasantness.

Unlike others in this series: this story has plenty of outside input from other couples in town: with plenty of moments where Matt’s actual desire to do the best for the people he’s representing, and our realization that Courtney’s quick dismissal of him and ‘his type’ are more representative of her own insecurities and fears than anything he actually is. Matt is solid and strong – with a determination to make the best of the situation he’s in at the law firm, do the best for his clients, and wanting to make a real impression on his family where he’s always felt like the afterthought. Slowly, and with plenty of pushback, Courtney comes to see Matt for who he is – and her constant second-guessing of his motives and intentions do slowly slide away – but not until the frustration with her immature behavior had me (and some of those around her) more frustrated with her than supportive.

A bit of a difficult story – I was glad to see Courtney find a match: and Matt seems to be level enough – and strong enough in his own self to withstand her on again off again affections and maturity, but it just was a long road to the happy ending. It was nice to check in with others from the series and see their lives moving forward, and there is something rather comforting in the small town of Shenandoah Falls – a decent installment for fans of the series.

The Bride Next Door: Chapel of Love #4 by Hope Ramsay

Title: The Bride Next Door
Author: Hope Ramsay
Series: Chapel of Love #4
Also in this series: A Fairytale Bride, A Christmas Bride, Here Comes the Bride
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Small Town
Published by: Forever
ISBN: 1538712865
Published on: 3 April, 2018
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 368
Rated: three-stars
Heat: One FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo IndieBound Book Depository Google
See this Title on Goodreads

The next book in USA Today bestselling author Hope Ramsay's Chapel of Love contemporary romance series about a small-town wedding chapel is perfect for fans of Jill Shalvis, Robyn Carr, and Brenda Novak.

Courtney Wallace loves her job as a wedding planner, but she's almost given up on her own happily-ever-after. She certainly doesn't it expect to find it with Matthew Lyndon, the hotshot lawyer she overhears taking a bet to seduce her. She's not amused by the challenge, but she decides to play along--after all, what better way to beat him at his own game?

Matt never intended to take the bet seriously. And moving next door wasn't part of his strategy to win-it was just a happy coincidence-but the more he gets to know Courtney, the more intrigued he becomes. When fun and games turn into something real, will these two decide they're in it to win it?

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Hope Ramsay

Hope Ramsay is a USA Today bestselling author of heartwarming contemporary romances. Her books have won critical acclaim and publishing awards. She is married to a good ol' Georgia boy who resembles every single one of her Southern heroes. She has two grown children and a couple of demanding lap cats. She lives in Virginia where, when she's not writing, she's knitting or playing her forty-year-old Martin guitar.

 

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.