Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne with Excerpt

Today I’m pleased to the first in the Love, Unexpectedly series  by Lauren Layne. Please read on for an excerpt and review, don’t forget to check the tour stops to see what other readers thought of the title, and be sure to enter the tour wide giveaway where you could win a Loveswept Mug, Flirt Mug and Select Ebook Bundle!

Blurred Lines

I’ll admit that I like the friends to lovers trope, but for it to work well for me, the friendship HAS to feel plausible and real to me.  In Layne’s new release, Blurred Lines, she dances with just that –what happens when a friends to lovers situation starts to be infused with ‘feelings’, when neither character is quite ready to admit it to themselves.

Parker and Ben met in college – and have had a solid friendship since then.  Friendship is an odd term here for me in terms of Parker’s feelings. See, I found her demeaning, judgy and not as likable as I would have wanted for a character.  Sadly, she was also far more real and plausible, honest to the point of frustration when compared to people in real life.

Ben is a typical collegian: a strict no serious relationship policy, he’s not interested in being tied down or accountable to anyone else.  Of course, he’s the one to fall first, and perhaps it was just meant for him to have that serious moment of grow up.  But, Parker’s depiction (even to herself) of Ben is that he’s a slut.  An attitude that she throws about regularly toward others, even as by her limited standards she was being just that.  I hate that term, the paternalistic attitude that separates women expressing sexuality from the “atta boy” mentality applied to men.  I hoped for more from Parker, and didn’t see it.

But, deep down, both characters do have moments to grow and learn, even as they fall back into old patterns as is in keeping with their emotional immaturity.  Those moments were plotted with care, and the dialogue was snappy and clever.  The story moved forward and brought us into the moments and explained the points of view, I just couldn’t buy into the relationship as a “thing’, mostly because I felt Parker was holding back and not being entirely honest.

While not a favorite (like the Sex and Stilettos Series) this was a cute book with a nice wrap up with two characters who were presented as honest and real, just a bit more than I want for a quick fun romance read.

Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne with Excerpt

Title: Blurred Lines
Author: Lauren Layne
Series: Love Unexpectedly #1
Also in this series: Good Girl, Love Story, Walk of Shame, An Ex for Christmas
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Published by: Loveswept
ISBN: 1101886439
Published on: 25 August, 2015
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 221
Audio Length: 6 Hours: 3 minutes
Rated: three-half-stars
Heat: One FlameOne FlameOne Flame

Get Your Copy: Amazon AllRomance Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Downpour Book Depository Google
See this Title on Goodreads

In a novel that's perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Jessica Sorensen, USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they're still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland's trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker's boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben's no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can't seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker's ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can't go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.

See the Love, Unexpectedly Series on GoodReads

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 18 years of age due to drug and alcohol use / violence and/or sexual content in a genre not specified as Erotic.

Tasty Excerpt

 

“Milk?” she asks again.

I take another bite of cereal, and it takes all of my self-control not to look pointedly at the bowl of cereal I’m eating. Of course we have freaking milk.

“In the fridge,” I say with a friendly smile. She smiles back and she’s got deep dimples in each cheek. Cute. I can see why Ben likes this one.

She walks past the table to the fridge, and I cringe when I see the fact that she has airhead monogrammed on the butt of her baby blue sweatpants. Really? Really?

Airhead has apparently forgotten that she wanted milk and instead pulls out one of the cans of Starbucks iced coffee that I keep stocked for Monday mornings when I need an extra pick-me-up, which is every Monday, because, well, Mondays are just the worst, aren’t they?

Airhead pops the tab and takes a sip without asking, which I guess is kind of annoying, but I’ve never really been one of those girls who likes to waste energy getting bitchy about stupid things, so I let it go.

“Hey, so I’m Parker,” I say.

“I’m Liz. Are you dating Ben’s roommate?”

Considering I know for a fact that Liz is the latest in a rather impressive streak of one-night stands, dating seems sort of a presumptuous word choice, because how does she know I’m not just a onetime sleepover guest like her?

This, too, I let pass without comment.

I mean, what else is the girl supposed to ask: Did you get drunk and sleep with a guy you barely know, like I just did?

Plus, I have a fun surprise for her.

“I am the roommate,” I say, keeping my smile friendly. I’m wearing my oldest pajamas and haven’t even pretended to have tried to take off last night’s mascara, which is now all over my face. I’m pretty sure I don’t look threatening.

But I’d be wrong.

Liz pauses halfway in, drinking my precious iced-coffee beverage, and her previously curious expression turns wary.

I mentally shrug. Ben tends to use my unisex name to full advantage by avoiding female pronouns when referring to his roommate while a booty call is in progress. He picked up this approach after several hookups that failed due to the fact that some girls still subscribe to the old girls-and-guys-can’t-be-just-friends axiom.

Amateurs.

Ben ambles into the kitchen, his sweatpants matching the style of his girl toy’s, although his are dark UO green, and instead of a tacky phrase on the back, they just have the Oregon Duck, our old college mascot. We graduated a couple years ago, so the frat-boy attire’s a little sad, but I can’t judge him too harshly since my entire workout wardrobe consists of old college shirts.

He yawns and smiles. “Morning. Have you girls met? Liz, Parker, Parker, Liz.”

Ben’s either unaware of the fact that Liz is giving him a dark look or he no longer cares now that he’s gotten laid.

Here’s the other reason I don’t exactly get my rocks off thinking about Ben in a romantic light: He’s kind of a player. As a friend, I can love him for it, but on the romantic front? Never. Ever. Not even with every possible STD test.

“Hey, what happened to the must-wear-shirts-in-the-kitchen rule?” I ask, shoveling another bite of increasingly soggy Wheat Chex into my mouth.

“No such rule exists,” he says, with a wink for Liz-slash-Airhead. Her expression softens lightly, and I resist the urge to slap a little sense into the poor girl. I want to tell her that his winks are a dime a dozen, but what’s the point? She has airhead printed on her sweatpants for God’s sake.

“There is too a rule about shirts in the kitchen,” I insist. “House rule number fourteen. Speaking of which, where are my house rules?”

“Hard to say,” he says, opening the fridge and glancing at its meager offerings before pouring a cup of coffee instead. “But I may have used them to mop up OJ the other day. Or maybe as a coaster for my beer.” He snapped his fingers. “Oh wait, no, I remember. I just plain threw them out the old-fashioned way.”

I point to the doorway. “Shirt. Now.”

He glances at Liz. “She can’t concentrate when my abs are on display. We have to give her anti-swoon pills.”

Liz giggles even as she shoots me a searching look, as though she’s trying to determine whether I really will swoon over Ben’s admittedly impressive upper body. The guy’s like a machine. He misses workouts only on the worst of his hangover days.

“Do you wanna grab some breakfast?” Liz asks Ben.

Aww, poor Airhead. She doesn’t know the name of the game.

 

 

About Lauren Layne

Lauren Layne is the New York Times bestselling author of romantic comedies. She lives in New York City with her husband.

A former e-commerce and web marketing manager from Seattle, Lauren relocated to New York City in 2011 to pursue a full-time writing career. She signed with her agent in 2012, and her first book was published in summer of 2013. Since then, she's written over two dozen books, hitting the USA TODAYNew York Times, iBooks, and Amazon bestseller lists.

Comments are closed.