The Beach at Doonshean by Penny Feeny

The Beach at Doonshean by Penny Feeny

Penny Feeny comes to the blog today with a story of the past influencing and reflecting the present with

The Beach at Doonshean

A story told in several perspectives, it all began with a death by drowning on the Irish Coast, as now some thirty years later the people have come to connect once again, some knowing, others not so much. Rachel and her husband Matthew with their young son Danny are living in Matthew’s childhood home, the one his mother and stepfather bought after his father drowned when they were on vacation in Ireland. Spending all of his life hearing about his “heroic” father, Michael is contained, restrained and usually even-tempered except when it comes to his half-sister and stepfather. But, his mother headed out to France after her retirement, and now the police have arrived looking for her – her rental was found miles away from where it should have been, and calls to her mobile are unanswered. Michael’s wife Rachel is a bit of a wishy-washy character – too eager to avoid conflict, too anxious, far too contained. She’s got almost no confidence in herself – and that insecurity is palpable to readers.

This story was the ultimate family saga- plenty of angst, self-doubt, conflict and untold resolutions of issues and relationships – from finally finding a sense of closure, to witnessing the long-standing effects of a simple act, through resolving ages old conflicts from childhood. With plenty of growth, some current day struggles and a series of events that allowed the family to finally lay some of their issues and conflicts to rest, it was engaging and entertaining – a telenovela with a slight Irish twist.

The Beach at Doonshean by Penny Feeny

Title: The Beach at Doonshean
Author: Penny Feeny
Genre: Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Family Saga, Friendship, Grief, Humor elements, Romantic Elements, Second Chance, Setting: Ireland
Published by: Aria
ISBN: 1788547322
Published on: 11 July, 2019
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 416
Rated: three-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Google
See this Title on Goodreads

,In Ireland, the past never dies...

Long ago, on a windswept Irish beach, a young father died saving the life of another man's child.

Thirty years later, his widow, Julia, decides to return to this wild corner of Ireland to lay the past to rest. Her journey sparks others: her daughter Bel, an artist, joins her mother in Ireland, while son Matt and daughter-in-law Rachel, at home in Liverpool, embark on some soul-searching of their own.

As the threads of past and present intertwine, Julia's family confront long-buried feelings of guilt, anger, fear and desire. Only then can they allow the crashing waves of the beach at Doonshean to bond them together once again.

This is a grown-up, thoughtful family drama for fans of Maeve Binchy and Patricia Scanlan.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.