AudioBook Review Death of a Greedy Woman: Hamish Macbeth #8 by M.C. Beaton

AudioBook Review:

Hamish Macbeth mysteries are fun cozies: relaxing and easy with characters that are eccentric and unique, much like the setting of the Scottish Highlands.  M.C. Beaton has created a whole series around the rather catch as catch can detecting style of Macbeth and gives us an entrée into his life and concerns with his pursuit of Priscilla. 

In this story, we are faced with a game of clue: at least 9 potential suspects, a gorgeous setting and plenty of tension on the side between Hamish and Priscilla that just serves to highlight their own dysfunctional relationship. 

Maria has matched the 8 into 4 couples, who instantly dislike each other. Not exactly a great start, but the arrival of her brash and wholly dislikable partner Peta manages to turn a bad situation worse.  It is not a great surprise when Peta is found dead, with an apple in her mouth.  Her behavior is piggish, so the setting of the body was particularly amusing.  But, there are several potential suspects and Hamish needs to discover who did it.

Narration for this story is provided by Shaun Grindell.  He has done the narration for all of the Hamish Macbeth that I have listened to and reviewed, and I couldn’t imagine another voice fitting the stories better.  Smooth and clear, his voice is perfectly modulated in pitch and tone, and brings a touch of the character’s personalities in with his emotive emphasis.

In typical M.C. Beaton style, this is a story laden with characters that instantly give the reader a reaction: positive or negative.  With clever and witty phrasing, sharply phrased descriptions and the familiar and near-lazy style of Hamish’s diction and direction add to the enjoyment of the story, even as the mysteries are fairly simple in their solution.  The perfect story to accompany a car ride or a quiet rainy day, fans of cozy mysteries will enjoy this title.

Stars:  Overall: 4  Narration: 4 Story:  4


AudioBook Review Death of a Greedy Woman: Hamish Macbeth #8 by M.C. Beaton

Title: Death of a Greedy Woman
Author: M. C. Beaton
Genre: Contemporary Mystery
Narrator: Shaun Grindell
Published by: Blackstone Audio
Source: AudioBook Jukebox
Pages: 240`
Audio Length: 4 Hours: 46 minutes
Rated: four-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon AllRomance iTunes Kobo Downpour IndieBound
See this Title on Goodreads

There's not a cloud in Constable Hamish Macbeth's sky, just plenty of warm sunshine and not quite enough of beautiful Priscilla Halburton-Smythe. But as eight hopeful members of the Checkmate Singles Club converge on Tommel Castle Hotel for a week of serious matchmaking, the clouds roll in.

The four couples, carefully matched by dating director Maria Worth, immediately dislike each other. The arrival of Maria's gross, greedy partner, Peta, kills the last vestige of romance. And as love goes out the window, murder comes in the door. Peta soon slurps up her last meal, and Hamish is left with a baffling puzzle: Who shared the fateful outing that left Peta dead with a big red apple in her mouth? Surely not of those singles...

A copy of this title was provided via AudioBook Jukebox for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About M. C. Beaton

Marion Chesney was born on 1936 in Glasgow, Scotland, UK, and started her first job as a bookseller in charge of the fiction department in John Smith & Sons Ltd. While bookselling, by chance, she got an offer from the Scottish Daily Mail to review variety shows and quickly rose to be their theatre critic. She left Smith’s to join Scottish Field magazine as a secretary in the advertising department, without any shorthand or typing, but quickly got the job of fashion editor instead. She then moved to the Scottish Daily Express where she reported mostly on crime. This was followed by a move to Fleet Street to the Daily Express where she became chief woman reporter. After marrying Harry Scott Gibbons and having a son, Charles, Marion went to the United States where Harry had been offered the job of editor of the Oyster Bay Guardian. When that didn’t work out, they went to Virginia and Marion worked as a waitress in a greasy spoon on the Jefferson Davies in Alexandria while Harry washed the dishes. Both then got jobs on Rupert Murdoch’s new tabloid, The Star, and moved to New York.

Anxious to spend more time at home with her small son, Marion, urged by her husband, started to write historical romances in 1977. After she had written over 100 of them under her maiden name, Marion Chesney, and under the pseudonyms: Ann Fairfax, Jennie Tremaine, Helen Crampton, Charlotte Ward, and Sarah Chester, she getting fed up with 1714 to 1910, she began to write detectives stories in 1985 under the pseudonym of M. C. Beaton. On a trip from the States to Sutherland on holiday, a course at a fishing school inspired the first Constable Hamish Macbeth story. They returned to Britain and bought a croft house and croft in Sutherland where Harry reared a flock of black sheep. But Charles was at school, in London so when he finished and both tired of the long commute to the north of Scotland, they moved to the Cotswolds where Agatha Raisin was created.

While Marion wrote her historical romances under her maiden name, Marion Chesney, as well as several pseudonyms (Helen Crampton, Ann Fairfax, Jennie Tremaine, and Charlotte Ward), because of her great success with mystery novels as M. C. Beaton, most of her publishers both in the U.S. and abroad use the M. C. Beaton pseudonym for all of her novels.


Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.