AudioBook Review: Confidence Woman (Claire Reynier #3) by Judith Van Gieson

AudioBook Review
My first introduction to the Claire Reynier series of mysteries, Confidence Woman was cleverly plotted with a slowly developing murder mystery that was engaging and entertaining.  Claire is a fifty-something divorced woman, former librarian and living a quiet life.  When a detective contacts her and she realizes that her identity was stolen by a sorority sister from university, the sisters start to compare notes about Evelyn, the victim and thief.

Slowly the changes in opportunity lost and taken advantage of each of the women is considered a suspect in the murder: and the stories about the dead woman, as well as the often odd relationships that the women have with one another is revealed, until the killer is unmasked.

Narration provided by Meredith Mitchell is suitably laden with precise diction and inflection to suit the characters and the story, while applying appropriate pitch and speed changes to distinguish characters from one another.  Particularly effective is the slightly fatigued and care-worn additions to Claire’s thoughts as she turns over events that only serve to make her feel every one of her years: her ex-husband, the lack of focus that eluded Evelyn in the years since college.

A shorter story, this is perfect for a cozy afternoon listen when the mood strikes for something different.

Stars   Overall  4  Narration 4  Story 4

AudioBook Review: Confidence Woman (Claire Reynier #3) by Judith Van Gieson

Title: Confidence Woman
Author: Judith Van Gieson
Genre: Contemporary Mystery
Narrator: Meredith Mitchell
Published by: AudioGo
Source: AudioBook Jukebox
Pages: 272
Audio Length: 6 Hours: 26 minutes
Rated: four-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon AllRomance iTunes Audible
See this Title on Goodreads

When Claire Reynier becomes the victim of credit card fraud, shes stunned to discover that Evelyn Martin, an old college friend and sorority sister, is the culprit. She's even more shocked when Evelyn turns up dead.

According to the police, Evelyn also swindled three other former classmates, but Claire is the only one without an alibi for the time of Evelyn's murder. And the only one with an extra motive: Evelyn stole her rare signed first edition of Herman Melville's The Confidence-Man, which is still missing. Now, dodging danger at every turn, Claire must sift through past grudges and long-buried resentments to uncover the truth and clear her name.

A copy of this title was provided via AudioBook Jukebox for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

About Judith Van Gieson

Judith Van Gieson is the author of a children’s book, a collection of poetry and short stories, and thirteen mysteries. Her short stories have appeared in several mystery anthologies. In the first mystery series eight books, featuring female Albuquerque attorney/sleuth Neil Hamel, were published by HarperCollins. Neil’s work often involved environmental issues including endangered species and wildfires. Books in this series were published in England, Japan and Germany. It was optioned by CBS. The Lies That Bind was a finalist for the Shamus Award for best detective novel. The series won the Spirit of Magnifico Literary Award.

There were five books in the second series with heroine Claire Reynier published in paperback by Signet, in hardcover by University of New Mexico Press and in a large print edition by Thorndike. Claire works as an archivist and librarian at the Center for Southwest Research at UNM. This series involved rare artifacts and New Mexico history. The Stolen Blue was a finalist for the Reviewer’s Choice Award. The Shadow of Venus was a finalist for the Barry Award and won the Zia Award given by New Mexico Press Women for Best Work of Fiction by a New Mexico woman.