AudioBook Review: The Adventuress by M.C. Beaton

AudioBook Review:

This is the second of this series, and the fourth or fifth title by this author that I have reviewed, and I will make a simple recommendation as I start. If you want a story that is light, entertaining and doesn’t consume your time or attention: this is the series for you.

Set around the furor of the London Season, each story manages to provide a simple romance with characters that are easy to picture, with a feel of a simpler time in the storyline: much like watching an old black and white sitcom.

This particular story has Emily at the center; she has rented the house for the season with only her uncle to serve as chaperone. Quickly the story reveals a Cinderella style plot, and only the servants suspected all did not ring true in her story. In this series, the below-stairs characters are often more prominent, and in this story their determination to help Emily in her romantic wishes to catch the Earl’s eye.

The servants of the house at No. 67 are cleverly portrayed and fully determined to help Emily find her love, and there are moments that are laugh out loud funny. With a clever use of the characters that one never sees as more than background in Regency novels, M.C. Beaton has penned a clever, fun and enjoyable story, perfect for an afternoons entertainment.

Narration provided by Lindy Nettleton is simply a perfect addition to the story, being neither too affected with acting, nor distracting with speech patterns and tone shifts. She provides a lovely listen as she narrates this novella, and it is a good way to spend a quiet and enjoyable afternoon.

Stars:  Overall:  4 Narration: 4 Story: 4



AudioBook Review: The Adventuress by M.C. Beaton

Title: The Adventuress
Author: M. C. Beaton
Genre: Historical Romance
Narrator: Lindy Nettleton
Published by: AudioGo
Source: AudioBook Jukebox
Pages: 176
Audio Length: 5 Hours: 36 minutes
Rated: four-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon AllRomance iTunes
See this Title on Goodreads

With Each London Season, an enchanting Romance Moves into the Fashionable Townhouse at Number 67 Clarges Street. And There Below Stairs the Staff Has a Special Mission--to Arrange a Hatch a Scheme ... to Bring Love Home to A House for the Season.

Beauty is a powerful magnet, and every man in the ton is drawn to the exquisite loveliness of Miss Emily Goodenough, who has rented the Clarges Street house with her rather peculiar old uncle. Only Rainbird, the butler, suspects that Miss Goodenough's origins might be less than genteel--in fact, that the beauteous Emily may be a runaway chambermaid and her "uncle" a fellow butler! But Emily has fallen desperately in love with the handsome, haughty Earl of Fleetwood, and since the bogus upstairs couple quickly wins the downstairs' servants' hearts... Rainbird and his friends are determined to make a lowly maid the catch of the Season for high society's most desirable Lord!

A copy of this title was provided via AudioBook Jukebox for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.


About M. C. Beaton

Marion Chesney was born on 1936 in Glasgow, Scotland, UK, and started her first job as a bookseller in charge of the fiction department in John Smith & Sons Ltd. While bookselling, by chance, she got an offer from the Scottish Daily Mail to review variety shows and quickly rose to be their theatre critic. She left Smith’s to join Scottish Field magazine as a secretary in the advertising department, without any shorthand or typing, but quickly got the job of fashion editor instead. She then moved to the Scottish Daily Express where she reported mostly on crime. This was followed by a move to Fleet Street to the Daily Express where she became chief woman reporter. After marrying Harry Scott Gibbons and having a son, Charles, Marion went to the United States where Harry had been offered the job of editor of the Oyster Bay Guardian. When that didn’t work out, they went to Virginia and Marion worked as a waitress in a greasy spoon on the Jefferson Davies in Alexandria while Harry washed the dishes. Both then got jobs on Rupert Murdoch’s new tabloid, The Star, and moved to New York.

Anxious to spend more time at home with her small son, Marion, urged by her husband, started to write historical romances in 1977. After she had written over 100 of them under her maiden name, Marion Chesney, and under the pseudonyms: Ann Fairfax, Jennie Tremaine, Helen Crampton, Charlotte Ward, and Sarah Chester, she getting fed up with 1714 to 1910, she began to write detectives stories in 1985 under the pseudonym of M. C. Beaton. On a trip from the States to Sutherland on holiday, a course at a fishing school inspired the first Constable Hamish Macbeth story. They returned to Britain and bought a croft house and croft in Sutherland where Harry reared a flock of black sheep. But Charles was at school, in London so when he finished and both tired of the long commute to the north of Scotland, they moved to the Cotswolds where Agatha Raisin was created.

While Marion wrote her historical romances under her maiden name, Marion Chesney, as well as several pseudonyms (Helen Crampton, Ann Fairfax, Jennie Tremaine, and Charlotte Ward), because of her great success with mystery novels as M. C. Beaton, most of her publishers both in the U.S. and abroad use the M. C. Beaton pseudonym for all of her novels.

Get 1 free audiobook credit at!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.