Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea: Salt Bay #1 by Liz Eeles

Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea: Salt Bay #1 by Liz Eeles

Liz Eeles is on the blog today with her debut offering and first in the Salt Bay Series, a lovely woman’s fiction title with a dash of humor, plenty of family and laden with the sights and people of Cornwall. Please read on for my review of

Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea

Annie Trebarwith has no interest in “sticking with” anything that could potentially cause her grief: she has no time for relationships, no family, no roots and no long-term thoughts. Ever. It suits her, and she is busy convincing us (and perhaps herself) through the early chapters. While I liked Annie, and her belief in no ties makes sense after losnig her mother and not being aware of (or informed about) any other family, it was evident from her determination and repeated ‘I don’t attach” statements that a change is needed. She’s been carrying an envelope from a solicitor in Cornwall, offering her a connection to a great aunt she never knew about – and in a miasma of self-pity and at loose ends, she makes the call.

Tregavara House is in the little village of Salt Bay, overlooking the sea. The Trebarwith family home, austere and rather in need of work, the house is occupied by Alice, Annie’s great aunt. Arriving on her doorstep after a long trudge down the hill into town, a near-miss encounter with a mini a rock and a grumpy driver, no phone service and even less enthusiasm, Annie is most definitely out of her comfort zone. But a good night’s sleep, a friendly Aussie transplant, finding wi-fi and a thoroughly despicable passive-aggressive distant cousin, Annie’s outlook on family, Cornwall and her next step are all up for discussion. But, aside from her own uncertainties about her future and place in the world, Annie discovers a tragedy that came to the little town, and no one seems to be willing to share information.

From what I found to be a slower-paced start, the story picks up tremendously once Annie arrives in Cornwall. From her discoveries from and about Alice to her new friend Kayla and her back and forth with Josh, as well as other residents sharing information about her family and all of the goings-on in town, this is a hard to put down story that combines multiple elements, and does so in ways that are organic and feel possible. From discovering one’s own need for family and roots, to helping the town start to heal through music and rebuilding the choir so tragically lost to the sea, the story has plenty of moments to love, laugh and puzzle out. I’m curious to see more about the choir and Annie’s adjustments into life at Salt Bay, and this was a lovely start.

Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea: Salt Bay #1 by Liz Eeles

Title: Annie's Lovely Choir by the Sea
Author: Liz Eeles
Series: Salt Bay #1
Genre: Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Family Saga, Setting: Britain, Small Town
Published by: Bookouture
ISBN: 1786810638
Published on: 18 May, 2017
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 338
Rated: four-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Book Depository Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Prepare to be whisked away to the Cornish seaside, where clear blue skies, crashing waves, and a welcoming choir await you.

Annie Trebarwith has no family to tie her down, and she likes it that way. But when a letter arrives, unexpectedly inviting her to visit her great aunt Alice in her family’s ancestral home, curiosity gets the better of her and she travels to deepest Cornwall to meet the family she’s never known.

Salt Bay is beautiful and Tregavara House imposing – but there’s no phone signal and some of the locals, like the gorgeous but brooding Josh, are incredibly grumpy. But Alice’s poor health compels Annie to stay, so to keep herself busy she relaunches the Salt Bay Choral Society.

Annie is surprised to see how much the choir means to the community, and she even starts to break through Josh’s surly exterior. As she begins to put down roots in Salt Bay, Annie soon realises that there’s a lot to be said for finding the place where you belong after all…

Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea is a heartwarming story about family, belonging and the healing power of music, perfect for fans of Alex Brown, Rachael Lucas and Carole Matthews.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

2 responses to “Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea: Salt Bay #1 by Liz Eeles

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge