The Little Book Café: Amy’s Story by Georgia Hill

The Little Book Café: Amy’s Story by Georgia Hill

Georgia Hill comes to the blog today with the third installment in The Little Book Café series

Amy’s Story

The third of the friends in this tiny seaside town has her story now, and Amy’s story is a lovely one. Running the bookshop that is an adjunct to Millie’s Café, she’s such a perfect choice for the manager: well read, innovative, always willing (and able) to draw people into the wonder that is books and reading. Unfortunately, she’s got little to no self-esteem and is incredibly shy – perhaps some of it comes from her being dumped at the altar some three years earlier, or her move to the Far East when a child, only to return with her mother when the marriage went pear shaped. But, much is to be attributed to her mother’s rather pointed (and often cruel) critiques and utter lack of awareness of how they sting. From comments to her weight, clothing and lack of a man, Amy’s got only a handful of non-self-chastising moments, usually when she’s tucked up with a book or talking with Patrick. Of course, she’s second guessing every utterance from herself and him, and is utterly in love with the Irish author – his wit, charm, accent and kindness have her (and most women he encounters) under a spell.

But, it’s Halloween approaching, and aside from wrapping up the ‘literary course’ that she planned at the behest of some book club members, she also has to ‘manage’ the various locals in the book club, decorate for the holiday, plan a launch of Patrick’s latest books and somehow deal with a rash of vandalism that has hit her shop (and others) in town. With her clear need for people to be in harmony, a bit of spine in taking on her mother and her bad behavior, and a shot in the arm of confidence from starting to do things for herself with pushes from both Tash and Emma – she’s faced her biggest embarrassment in the form of her ex-fiance, and emerged stronger. Until Patrick disappears for weeks after kissing her – and leaves her wondering just how she’d be enough.

These three books are lovely small-town stories that are full of friendship, unique characters, a touch of angst (both self-imposed and not) and lots of cake. How could you not have cake with the bakery/café to hand – and well – Cake. Hill has managed to write in a sort of ‘shorthand’ for the three women we spend time with, as they’ve all known one another for years, but allowed the influence of the outside world and some rather unique characters to influence the moments. Combine this with the lovely ebb and flow of tourists and locals, the ever-changing sea and sky, and plenty of happy moments and this is a lovely series to just while away the hours with.

The Little Book Café: Amy’s Story by Georgia Hill

Title: The Little Book Café; Amy’s Story
Author: Georgia Hill
Genre: British, Contemporary Woman's Fiction, Friendship, Romantic Elements, Setting: Britain, Small Town
Published by: Harper Impulse
ISBN: 9780008281281
Published on: 19 October, 2018
Format:eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Pages: 136
Rated: four-stars
Get Your Copy: Amazon Barnes&Noble iTunes Kobo Book Depository Google
See this Title on Goodreads

Escape to the seaside for a new three-part series for fans of The Canal Boat Cafe and Willow Cottage

Amy, the manager of The Little Book Café, is a hopeless romantic who had her heart broken, but quietly refuses to give up on love.

With her friends Tash and Emma, not to mention their shared love of books and delicious cake from the café next door, Amy might just find the courage to fall for a real life romance this time…

Amy's Story is the final instalment of The Little Book Cafe series so wrap up warm this Autumn and treasure this wonderful book.

A copy of this title was provided via Publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

 

About Georgia Hill

Georgia Hill writes rom-coms and historical fiction and is published by Harper Impulse, the digital-first imprint of HarperCollins.

She divides her time between the beautiful counties of Herefordshire and Devon and lives with her two beloved spaniels, a husband (also beloved) and a ghost called Zoe. She loves Jane Austen, eats far too much Belgian chocolate and has a passion for Strictly Come Dancing.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

3 responses to “The Little Book Café: Amy’s Story by Georgia Hill

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.